Homemade Applesauce

IMG_9854_tall IMG_9845 IMG_9854 IMG_9860

Yesterday was my 21st birthday and also the first day of the fall equinox. Autumn is definitely my favourite season. I love the chilly weather and absolutely everything  that comes with it: sweaters, hot tea, ciders, pies, applesauce, and of course pumpkin spiced everything. The changing scenery is so magical here in Canada. I feel so lucky to be able to witness it every year.

Today, I would like to share my old-fashioned homemade applesauce recipe with you. This recipe is ultimately delicious served warm with some granola on a chilly fall day.

I truly hope that you find as much enjoyment in it as I do.

Old-Fashioned Applesauce

  • 8 organic apples (peeled and cut into slices)
  • 1 organic lemon (juiced)
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar cane or maple syrup
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • Pinch of nutmeg (not actually a nut!)
  • 1/2 cup organic apple juice

Wash, peel and cut apples, place into a medium cooking pot. Squeeze lemon juice on top and stir in the rest of the ingredients.

Simmer on medium-low heat for approximately 35 minutes (until apples have softened), stirring occasionally. When cooked, puree with a hand blender if you desire a smooth consistency. Personally, I like it chunky.

Store in a sealed mason jar for up to 3 months!

Yields two medium jars.

2 thoughts on “Homemade Applesauce

  1. This looks fantastic. I just made applesauce after applepicking this weekend, but never thought to add lemon or maple syrup (I just used water, cinnamon, and agave). Will need to try your recipe with my leftovers! Glad to connect, too 🙂 xx Bianca

    Like

    1. Thanks for your comment Bianca, this recipe is definitely worth a try. I also made a batch a few weekends ago with some apples from my parents tree, it definitely feels a lot more homemade when you pick the apples yourself. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

