Kitchen Experiment: Homemade Seitan (Two ways!)

Since I’m allergic to soy, chick peas, lentils and nuts I always have a hard time finding meat-substitutes at the grocery store.

I recently discovered this so-called “wheat-meat” called seitan – sounds pretty demonic right?

The dough was super easy to make and I cooked it in two different ways. I baked myself some for dinner tonight and boiled the rest for tomorrow.

      IMG_3812 IMG_3814 IMG_3815 IMG_3822

Homemade Seitan

  • 2 cups vital wheat gluten
  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast
  • 1 1/4 cup vegetable broth
  • 4 tbsp reduced-sodium soy sauce

Mix dry ingredients in a large bowl. Add wet ingredients and knead with a wooden spoon for 3 to 4 minutes. Remove dough from bowl and knead for another 5 minutes on a flat surface. Roll dough into a log and cut into pieces.

I made large chunks for the boiled ones and small for the baked.

Baked: Bake on a greased cooking sheet at 375 degrees C for 15 minutes (until golden brown.)

Boiled: Bring 3 cups of vegetable broth to boil. Cut up an onion and two garlic cloves to throw in the pot. Simmer seitan chunks in broth for 35-40 minutes, until firm.Let cool in broth and strain.

Season or cook however you’d like.

Yields 4 cups.

5 thoughts on “Kitchen Experiment: Homemade Seitan (Two ways!)

  1. Hi, I haven’t been following your blog very long but wanted to ask… You are allergic to soy but are able to tolerate soy sauce? If so- I’m jealous! 🙂 Somewhere in my archives, I have a soy-free credited modification of another blogger’s recipe. If you’re interested, I can dig it up & post the link.

    Like

    1. I am allergic to soy but I’ve never had a problem with soy-sauce for some reason. I think it’s probably due to the fact that there is hardly any protein in it which is what your body normally reacts to during an allergic reaction. I’m severely allergic to protein-rich soy products such as tofu, tempeh and others though. It’s pretty weird. I consider myself lucky too. I would love to see the link. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

